247 replies to this topic

#1 Kat

Kat

My girlfriend just dumped me. -_-

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,011 posts

Posted 01 October 2005 - 06:53 PM

"What is up with everyone listening to Korean music these days? You're not Korean, you have no business listening to their music."

Now, besides the obvious factor that I think this person who said this quote was referring to Japanese music, since through anime such music is made popular, we will ignore that minor ignorance as people being, well ignorant.

This was said to me on Friday during study hall because I was listening to Korean music and I am about as far from Korean, as well, anyone can possibly be. But I happen to be fond of the musical beat that comes out of Korea, and Asia overall, and since it's in a different language I have no idea how god awful the lyrics could possibly be, which is part of the turn off in the American music industry right now. I love lyrics. I'm a poet and writer, I love them, and I don't want to hear stupid lyrics. Stupid lyrics bother me. Therefore, I listen to something that sounds like it has good lyrics because the person is singing it beautifully, and you want to know the sad part, yes sometimes the lyrics are just what the lyrics would be here in America, but most of the time they are a lot better. They sound better. They are about more than just sex and romance.

Do As Infinity is one of my favorite bands, and they sang about social issues, war, and working yourself too hard. They sang about family and families getting torn apart. They sang about the joys of giving birth. They sang about nature and how utterly beautiful nature is. And the best part? They were headed by a girl. They were a rock band who was headed by a female, who didn't scream, but sang, beautifully. Find me a band in America that extends that far out lyrically. Find me a band in America that sings about that, and is extremely popular, not just for the lyrics, but because they sound amazing.